voluptuous vegans


veganizing Grandma Betty’s beef stew (slow cooker recipe) by Carolina Smart
November 19, 2006, 5:21 pm
Filed under: Faux beef, Recipes, slow cooker, stew, sunday food

Growing up my Dad use to make killer stew! A lesson learned from is own Mother he would basically dump all the left over veggies in the fridge into a big pot and cook it up. Somehow no matter what the ingredients his stew always turned out fabulous.

One memory of my Grandmother’s stew, that has stuck with me forever, happened at a pot luck wedding. Grandma Betty brought along a big dish of stew. One of the guests commented it was the best stew she had ever eaten and asked my Grandma if it was traditional Irish stew. Without missing a beat, Grandma Betty turned to the lady and said. “Irish stew, this ain’t no bloody Irish stew, were Scottish!” In memory of a great old gal, I’ve called this recipe Grandma Betty’s Beef Stew.

~~~

What to put in the pot (in this case a 5 quart slow cooker)!

3 cups Seitan (recipe for Seitan to follow or it may be above this recipe)
3 TBSP Chickpea flour ( or as much as you need to thicken it)
4 cloves garlic minced
2 Large tables spoons canola oil
1 large onion diced
1/2 cup tomato paste
2 large potatoes diced
1 large purple yam diced
5 medium carrots diced
1 cup squash or pumpkin
1/4 cup soy sauce
1 tsp dried basil
pepper and salt to taste
5 to 6 cups vegetable broth (it needs to cover the veggies)

Here’s the easy part. Put it all in the pot and then turn it on (either 4 hours on high or 8 hours on low).  Add more chickpea flour and cook longer till you get desired thickness for the soup/gravy part of the stew.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Nice blog, I will come back and keep reading. Please take a look at mine, it’s about slow cooker recipes.

Comment by gmh

Hi. Thanks for this site. I found it while looking for vegan kielbassa, probably made with seitan or bean curd sheets. Anyway, I can’t find one, and you said that anything can be veganized. Do you know how to do this one? I’ve been vegetarian for 33 years, vegan for the past 5 years, but I still crave kielbassa when I see it. Begin vegetarian for me didn’t mean I hated meat, it means I love and respect animals.

Comment by Valerie

Hey Valerie, I know we can veganize that! Post the recipe and let me see what I can do!!!

Comment by voluptuousvegans




Leave a Reply

